top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBenji

Looking at Alternatives

I need new shoes. My current pair of barefoot shoes have been warn into a beautiful oblivion. So in an effort to expand my horizons I opened up Etsy.com and started looking for more “alternative” solutions.


Etsy Search: Barefoot Shoes


Shoes at the Dump

Modern shoes are garbage. I'm not even talking about the trashy over-cushioned Nike trainers that are even worse, but modern barefoot shoes in general! Most half decent barefoot shoes are made from petroleum products, are made with a short shelf life in mind, and are destined for the dumpster! This is adding to our growing toxic trash problem.


Plasticky footwear has not always been the social norm. Once, not too long ago (your grandparents will remember the day), footwear was much more sustainable and durable.


Usually made from leather, the shoes of yesterday lasted; and when their soles inevitably gave up the ghost, there was a large industry devoted to repairing your favorite shoes. Shoes back then stretched and shrunk to fit your feet, and the uppers practically lasted forever if properly cared for.


Old shoes

Even earlier there were way more footwear options. Leather was a dominant material (far more ecologically sustainable than their synthetic counterparts). Felt also made a strong appearance in cultures with ready access to wool; and wood was used in areas with more moisture than you'd know what to do with. Some coulters even wove plant fibers into cordage to make quick shoes.


All of these old solutions have some things in common. They all protected you feet from the harsh local environments, they all are arguably barefoot, most of them can be repaired or replaced easily, and they all are carbon neutral!


Personal opinion here: Boots are better than shoes if you have to wear anything at all.


Ok, enough history.


I need new shoes. My current pair of barefoot shoes have been warn into a beautiful oblivion. So in an effort to expand my horizons I opened up Etsy.com and started looking for more “alternative” solutions.


Now, it must be said that i am a huge fan of shopping Etsy in general, not just for weird shoes. From my beanies to kitchen gear, to organizational solutions, even musical instruments (Ukulele Acquisition Syndrome any one?) Etsy has my heart. I think it stems from my very hippy parents raising me to make my own solutions and learn from the art of others.


I type in the search for barefoot boots, and… Wow! There are a lot of alternatives!


From hand sewn moccasins (very minimalist), to thick wool felt boots (yep! zero drop indeed!) my barefooting dreams have been ignited anew!


For this winter, I think I will try some felted wool low top boots with a leather sole. Stay tooned to see how they last!


What shoes are you trying this winter?

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page